District Assessment Information

  • Assessments utilized in Missouri are designed to measure how well students obtain the knowledge and skills outlined in the Missouri Learning Standards.  The assessments provide information on academic achievement at the student, class, school, district and state levels.  This information is utilized to diagnose individual student strengths and weaknesses in connection with the instruction of the Missouri Learning Standards, and to gauge the overall quality of instruction and education throughout Missouri.


    The Missouri Assessment Program has three types of assessment platforms and structures; Grade-Level Assessments (MAP-GLA), End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) and the Missouri Assessment Program-Alternative Assessment (MAP-A).


    Grade-Level Assessments (MAP-GLA):  The Grade-Level Assessments are conducted to assess student progress towards mastery of the Missouri Learning Standards, this is an annual standards-based test that will measure specific skills defined for each grade level.  All students in grades 3-8 will take the grade level assessment.  English Language Arts and Mathematics are tested in all grades, and Science will be tested in grades 5 and 8.  Students will also take a formal written assessment as part of their English Language Arts testing in grade 4 and 8.  Testing traditionally takes place in the months of April and May.


    End-of-Course Assessments (EOC): The End-of-Course Assessments are conducted to assess student progress towards mastery of the Missouri Learning Standards when a student has received instruction over the specific content, regardless of their grade level.  All students must complete Algebra I (of Algebra II if Algebra I was taken prior to high school enrollment), English II, Biology and American Government EOCs prior to high school graduation.  Additional assessments are available in the areas of English I, Geometry, American History, Physical Science and Personal Finance.  Testing takes place throughout the academic year based on graduation requirements/time frames.  Traditionally students will complete testing between March-May but it can vary depending on when they complete the course work.


    Missouri Assessment Program-Alternative Assessment (MAP-A):  This assessment is administered to students with the most significant cognitive disabilities who meet grade level and eligibility criteria determined by the student’s Individualized Education Program (IEP) team.  The MAP-A achievement is an instructionally embedded assessment model that is aligned with the Missouri Learning Standards.  


    The MAP-A focuses on three content areas:


    • English Language Arts-tested in grades 3-8 and 11
    • Mathematics-tested in grades 3-8 and 11
    • Science-tested in grades 5, 8 and 11